Technology and stuff

The last couple of weeks I have ramped up my gear to include a bunch more canon speedlights and a transmitter.  My interest in wireless e-ttl with multiple off-camera speedlights has peaked!

So, the question is what type of jobs are these best suited.  This week I find myself shooting environmental portraits, illustrative people photography and basketball in the same day.  I’m thinking this might be the perfect time to start incorporating these little puppies.  After all, my kids are sick of being my guinea pigs for this!

At first I thought I’d use them for the basketball.  Shooting at f/2.8 should allow for a slow enough shutter speed to freeze action.  Especially at 400 – 800 iso.  For the crowd shots I can send my assistant into the stands to position the lights where I want them.  As for action, I’m thinking of clamping them to something.  I’ll know better when I get there.

I’m going to shoot heavy on this job since I have a great assistant.  He really frees me up to experiment and play.  Next week I’ll post samples.  Wish me luck!

~ by Robert Michael Productions on November 30, 2009.

Got something to add? Say it here!

